Jonah Hex News

20 06 2008

Found this on Notes from Hemingway’s Lounge, so we’d like to give a big thanks to them.

Film School Rejects just received word personally from actor Tom Jane regarding the origins of the artwork below and his involvement (or lack therof) in the DC Comics adaptation Jonah Hex.

“Yeah, the pic is real all right – my pal [writer/producer] Akiva Goldsman told me about the project and I fell in love with the idea right away. Being a huge fan of all things Hex – I just couldn’t help myself. I called up my buddy Chris Nelson and we spent a Saturday afternoon working up some make-up for this impromptu shoot and I fired a few pics off to Warners. How do people get a hold of this shit? It’s a little embarrassing seeing my fanboy enthusiasm spilled all over the web, but great scripts don’t come around too often, especially for characters I love.”

And an update:

FilmSchoolRejects posted a concept pic of actor Thomas Jane as comic book hero Jonah Hex in Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor’s announced adaptation of the famed DC book of the same name.

Granted, this photo and Jane’s casting have not been officially (or even unofficially) confirmed, it still seems right on the money. For those who have seen Jane in “The Punisher,” it’s obvious he has the tough guy chops.

Created by writer John Albano and artist Tony DeZuniga, Jonah Hex is a former Confederate officer turned gun-slinging bounty hunter anti-hero whose face was horrifically scarred on his right side. The comic book, which was introduced in the 1970’s, and Neveldine/Taylor have said that they don’t plan on “making a straight-ahead Western but plan to develop the character with some of the supernatural overtones in the hopes of creating a franchise.”

I’m torn ’cause on the one hand I love Jonah Hex, especially the new series, but I got problems with Tom Jane.

We’ll see…

Actions

Information




